Skip to main content

Research landscape


The Georgian system of higher education and research consists of a mix of research performing organisations from both public and private sectors. There are 31 authorised universities in Georgia, among them is Kutaisi International University, the largest project for an educational institution in Georgia in recent decades, which opened its doors to its first students in September, 2020.

The majority of research institutions, including those formerly acted under the umbrella of the Georgian National Academy of Sciences, are merged into 6 leading public universities, some of them are conglomerated as a state military scientific-technical centre “Delta“, and the others represent standalone research organisations. Also, several think-tanks and national labs are among research performers.

The universities and research institutions are largely concentrated in Tbilisi - the capital of Georgia, and only 5 universities are located in the regions (Kutaisi, Batumi, Telavi, Akhaltsikhe). The international master and PhD programmes are provided at the universities located in Tbilisi.